Pillow Pallooza part 1

030

I’m excited I can finally start sharing the many Christmas gift projects I have been working on! These pillows are for my Mom who is going to use them in a John Deer inspired office for her husband.

I had these wonky circle blocks stuck in my head for months thanks to pinterest. I am very new to curves and wanted to practice a design that is a little more forgiving than more traditional blocks. I used a variation of stack and whack to make these. I stacked up squares of fabric and clipped the top right corner. Then I cut a curve in all of the fabric and shuffled the cut pieces until I was happy with them and sewed them back together, Then I’s stack them together, using the clipped corner as a guide and cut again. I did this several times until I was happy with the look. Then I measured them and cut as big of a square as I could and put them together. I think it makes a really fun and playful block. I’d love to try this technique again and make a wall hanging for my living room! It also makes a lot of fun scraps that could be used in an improv quilt somehow.

031

I used several different quilting designs in each section of the pillow. I like the look that it gives it and it was excellent practice and gave me a feel for each design. I used a variegated yellow thread from Aurifil. I love Aurifil threads for quilting and piecing.

035 032

The pebbling is my favorite part of both pillows. It was a lot of fun to sew and I really like how it changed the fabric to look like a print in a way. Here are a few more close up shots of the quilting. These smaller projects have really given me some confidence that I can fmq a larger project!

033 034

I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas or just a great day if you don’t celebrate the holiday! Thanks for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “Pillow Pallooza part 1

Leave a Reply

